What should be done when a card is lost or stolen?

When a card is lost or stolen, the card should be closed (deactivated) as soon as possible. This will prevent payment processing and further usage of the card. Closing a card is a permanent action and cannot be reversed. If you want to temporarily prevent usage of the card, you can suspend the card instead. Note that if the card is lost or stolen, you should always close the card.

 

A card can be closed through the Customer Area by following these steps:

  1. Log in to the Balance Platform Customer Area with your credentials.
  2. Go to Payment instruments.
  3. Select the appropriate payment instrument from the list.
  4. Select Change card status in the upper right corner.
  5. In the pop-up window, set the New Status to Closed.
  6. In the Reason dropdown list, select the appropriate reason for the status change. Select Lost in case the card is lost. Select Stolen in case the card is stolen.
  7. Select Change status.

Additionally, a card can be closed with an API call. For more details please visit our docs.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful