How do I cancel a payment?

How to cancel a payment 

  1. Log in to your Customer Area.
  2. Go to Transactions > Payments.
  3. Select the PSP reference of the payment you want to cancel.
  4. Select See all payment actions > Cancel payment.
    Cancel payment is available only if the payment isn’t yet captured (Authorised status).
  5. Enter the confirmation code, and select Submit cancel request.

Tip: To cancel a payment via the API, follow our technical documentation.

Note: When you cancel a payment, your customer won’t see a refund. A refund isn’t needed because funds were never deducted. 

Which payments can I cancel? 

You can cancel a payment you previously authorized but no longer wish to capture. Canceling the payment returns the funds to the customer. 

You can cancel a payment when your payment method completes the following steps:

  1. Authorization: The payment details of the customer are verified and the funds are reserved.
  2. Capture: The reserved funds are transferred from the customer’s account to yours. 

Note: A payment with an immediate capture can’t be canceled and would need to be refunded. 

Watch how to cancel a payment

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful